ABRSM Exam Qualifications


Summary of qualifications awarded for ABRSM exams

All ABRSM exams (theory, practical and performance) attract qualifications recognised and regulated by Ofqual (England’s Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation). This document provides for a general overview ABRSM exam accreditation.

Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF)

Within England, Wales and Northern Ireland, all ABRSM exams sit within the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) – intended to describe qualifications that Ofqual regulates, as well as showing how they relate to each other and providing consistency in how the size, challenge or demand of a qualification is described.

UK Qualifications at the same level

ABRSM exam (theory, practical, performance) UK qualifications at the same level
Grade 1, Grade 2, Grade 3 GCSE (Grades D-G and 3-1)
Grade 4, Grade 5 GCSE (Grade A* and 9-4)
Grade 6, Grade 7, Grade 8 AS Level and A Level, BTEC Nationals


UCAS points

Students with ABRSM qualifications at Grades 6, 7 and 8 benefit from UCAS (University and Colleges Admission Service) points, which can be used as part of a university or college application in the UK.

Gd 6 UCAS points  Gd 7 UCAS points
Gd 8 UCAS points
ABRSM Exam   Pass   Merit   Dist   Pass   Merit   Dist   Pass   Merit   Dist
Practical/Performance 8 10 12 12 14 16 18 24 30
Theory 4 5 6 6 7 8 8 9 10


Further information

You can find more information about Ofqual and the RQF at For more detailed information on exam accreditation, you can also visit the ABRSM website at



If you would like tuition to help with an upcoming exam please contact us on 0203 794 6200 or email us or alternatively use the contact form here.